The Licensing section of the Board is responsible for processing initial and renewal applications for CPA certification and initial and renewal CPA firm registration applications. The Licensing section also administers and monitors the Continuing Professional Education (CPE) compliance program and the peer review program.
Contacting the Licensing Staff
Buck Winslow, Manager, (919) 733-1421
Alice Grigsby, Specialist, (919) 733-1422 (original, reciprocal, & temporary CPA licensure applications, and change of status)
Cammie Emery, Assistant, (919) 733-1423 (initial and renewal CPA firm registrations, CPE, and peer review)
NC State Board of CPA Examiners
PO Box 12827
Raleigh, NC 27605-2827
Annual Certificate Renewal
All active North Carolina CPAs are required to renew their certificates annually prior to July 1. Online license renewal is available April – June. To renew a certificate, the licensee must submit a properly completed certificate renewal application form which shows the number of CPE hours completed in the previous calendar year and the annual renewal fee of $60.00. If a CPA fails to renew his or her certificate prior to July 1, the Board will send a Letter of Demand to the CPA at his or her last known mailing address. Failure to complete the renewal process within 30 days of the mailing date of the demand letter automatically results in forfeiture of the certificate. Upon forfeiture of the certificate, the individual is no longer a CPA and the Board will send, by certified mail, a notice to the individual that requires him or her to return the actual certificate to the Board within fifteen (15) days. A person who has forfeited his or her certificate for failure to renew may apply to the Board for reinstatement.
Unauthorized Use of CPA Title
North Carolina accountancy law allows that anyone can practice public accountancy by paying a privilege license fee to the NC Department of Revenue. However, anyone residing in this State who is not licensed by the NC State Board of CPA Examiners as a CPA or not granted the practice privilege by NCGS 93-10 is restricted to using the term “accountant” in connection with his or her name on all reports, letters of transmittal, or advice, and on all stationery and documents used in connection with his or her services as an accountant, and must refrain from the use in any manner of any other title or designation in such practice while in this State. The exception to this restriction is when an individual residing in this State who is licensed by another jurisdiction wishes to provide a résumé to a prospective employer, the individual may use “CPA” or “certified public accountant” on his or her résumé. However, the individual must clearly indicate the jurisdiction in which he or she holds a CPA certificate as well as the status of that certificate if other than active (inactive, lapsed, retired, etc.).
- It is unlawful for any person who has not received a certificate of qualification or not been granted a practice privilege under NCGS 93-10 admitting the person to practice as a certified public accountant to assume or use such a title, or to use any words, letters, abbreviations, symbols or other means of identification to indicate that the person using same has been admitted to practice as a certified public accountant [NCGS 93-3].
- It is unlawful for any firm, copartnership, or association to assume or use the title of certified public accountant, or to use any words, letters, abbreviations, symbols or other means of identification to indicate that the members of such firm, copartnership or association have been admitted to practice as certified public accountants, unless each of the members of such firm, copartnership or association first shall have received a certificate of qualification from the State Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners or been granted a practice privilege admitting each member of the firm, copartnership, or association to practice as a certified public accountant; provided, however, that the Board may exempt those persons who do not actually practice in or reside in the State of North Carolina from registering and receiving a certificate of qualification under this section [NCGS 93-4].
- It is unlawful for any corporation to assume or use the title of certified public accountant, or to use any words, letters, abbreviations, symbols or other means of identification to indicate that such corporation has received a certificate of qualification from the State Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners admitting it to practice as a certified public accountant [NCGS 93-5].
A person licensed as a CPA in another jurisdiction who moves to North Carolina with the intention of using the CPA title (whether in public practice, industry, government, or education) must obtain a certificate of qualification from the Board prior to using the CPA title in any way in this State. Oral or written statements such as “I am a licensed CPA in another jurisdiction” when used in connection with the individual’s name on all reports, letters of transmittal, or advice, and on all stationery and documents used in connection with the individual’s services as an accountant do not exempt the individual from obtaining a certificate of qualification from the Board. Non-resident CPAs who wish to practice in North Carolina may do so only in accordance with NCGS 93-10.
Change of Address
Without a valid home and/or business address (including telephone number, fax number, and email address) on file for each certificate holder or CPA firm, the Board is unable to disseminate vital information to its licensees. Changes in home and/or business address (including telephone number, fax number, and email address) may be submitted to the Board online. If you prefer not to submit your address change online, you may submit a Change of Address form by mail, fax, or email. Board staff cannot accept an oral change of address. The Board does not sell or rent the mailing addresses, phone numbers, or email addresses of its current or former licensees or Uniform CPA Examination candidates. NOTE: Address changes submitted to the NCACPA or other professional organizations have no effect on your address listed with the Board.
If a licensee’s legal name changes, the licensee must provide the Board with copies of the document (marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, etc.) that legally authorizes the name change. If a licensee’s legal name has changed and he or she wants a CPA certificate issued in that name, he or she must provide the Board with copies of the document (marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, etc.) that legally authorizes the name change, return the certificate initially issued by the Board, and submit a check payable to “NC State Board of CPA Examiners” in the amount of $25. Average processing time for a new CPA certificate is about 120 days. If you have questions regarding this matter, please contact Alice Grigsby.
A North Carolina CPA’s certificate status may fall into one of several categories including
- Active – when used to refer to the status of a person, describes a person who possesses a North Carolina certificate of qualification and who has not otherwise been granted “Inactive” status;
- Can’t Use Title- a person who possesses a North Carolina certificate of qualification and has signed a Form of Practice affidavit stating that because the individual practices public accounting in a form not approved by the Board, he or she will not use the CPA title in any way.
- Forfeited – a person whose North Carolina certificate of qualification has been returned by the Board under conditions imposed by 21 NCAC 08G .0406(b)(2), 08J .0101(c), or a Consent Order.
- Inactive – when used to refer to the status of a person, describes one who has requested inactive status and been approved by the Board and who does not use the title “certified public accountant” nor does he or she allow anyone to refer to him or her as a “certified public accountant,” and neither he nor she nor anyone else refers to him or her in any representation as described in 21 NCAC 08A .0308(b).
- Probation – a person who possesses a North Carolina certificate of qualification under conditions imposed by the Board.
- Revoked – a person whose North Carolina certificate of qualification has been permanently removed or for a specific time under a discipline imposed by the Board.
- Surrendered – a person whose North Carolina certificate of qualification has been surrendered for a period of time under a Consent Order with the Board.
- Suspended – a person whose North Carolina certificate of qualification has been revoked for a specific period of time under conditions imposed by 21 NCAC 08J .0111(3) or under a discipline imposed by the Board.
- Voluntary Surrender – a person whose North Carolina certificate of qualification has been voluntarily surrendered by a Consent Order with the Board
NOTE: Effective January 1, 2014, “retired” and “retired status” were removed from 21 NCAC Title 21, Chapter 08. All individuals on retired status prior to January 1, 2014, will be converted to inactive status.
An active CPA may apply to the Board for a change to inactive status by submitting the appropriate paperwork to the Board. An individual on inactive status is no longer considered a CPA and is not subject to the renewal fees or continuing professional education (CPE) requirements. An individual may opt to request inactive status if he or she will not be practicing accounting, but will be earning income by working in some capacity. An individual on inactive status is allowed to keep (but not display) the physical CPA certificate issued by the Board but cannot use the title “certified public accountant” in any manner. An individual on inactive status may reinstate to active status by completing the application form, paying the current certificate application fee, submitting three certificates of good moral character and endorsements of eligibility, and furnishing the Board with documentation of the completion of the necessary hours of CPE, including the required course on the North Carolina accountancy statutes and rules.
Reciprocal Certificates and Temporary Permits to Practice
The Board may issue a reciprocal CPA certificate to a properly licensed CPA from another jurisdiction who now resides in North Carolina or whose principal place of business is in North Carolina and who meets the statutory requirements for licensure. Please note that reciprocal certification is based on the individual’s licensure to practice public accountancy in another jurisdiction. If an individual applies for and receives a reciprocal certificate for North Carolina, he or she is not required to maintain his or her out-of-state license as part of North Carolina’s CPA licensing requirements. However, he or she may choose to remain active in another jurisdiction.
A CPA from another jurisdiction who resides in North Carolina or whose principal place of business in North Carolina who desires to use the CPA title in North Carolina must apply for a reciprocal certificate. He or she must furnish the Board with an interstate exchange form signed by an official of the CPA licensing board in the jurisdiction in which the CPA is currently licensed to practice public accounting, showing both the certificate number and that the applicant is actively licensed. The applicant must provide evidence of his or her grades on the Uniform CPA Examination through an interstate exchange form signed by an official of a CPA licensing board that can verify the grades.
Upon approval of a temporary permit, the Board will issue the applicant a statement confirming that the CPA is entitled temporarily to use the CPA title in North Carolina for a stated period. The stated period will expire 120 days after issue or upon issuance of the individual’s reciprocal certificate, whichever comes first. The Board grants temporary permits to practice only to applicants for reciprocal certificates pending their qualification under 21 NCAC 08H .0101.
If you have questions regarding reciprocal certificates or temporary permits to practice, please contact Alice Grigsby.
Individual Practice Privilege (NCGS 93-10)
An individual whose principal place of business is outside this State is granted the privilege to perform or offer to perform services, whether in person or by mail, telephone, or electronic means, in this State as a certified public accountant without notice to the Board, the submission of any other documentation, or the payment of any fee if the individual meets all of the following conditions:
- Holds a valid and unrevoked certificate as a certified public accountant, or its equivalent, issued by another state, a territory of the United States, or the District of Columbia.
- Holds a valid and unrevoked license or permit to practice as a certified public accountant issued by another state, a territory of the United States, or the District of Columbia.
- Has passed the Uniform CPA Examination.
- Has not been convicted of a felony under the laws of the United States, any state, a territory of the United States, or the District of Columbia and has never been convicted of a crime, an essential element of which is dishonesty, deceit, or fraud unless the jurisdiction in which the individual is licensed has determined the felony or other crime has no effect on the individual’s license.
Individual Consent to Jurisdiction
An individual who satisfies the requirements of subsection (a) of this section and exercises the privilege afforded under this section by performing or offering to perform services as a certified public accountant in this State simultaneously consents as a condition of the grant of this privilege to:
- Comply with the laws of this State, the provisions of this Chapter, and rules adopted by the Board.
- Have an administrative notice of hearing served on the licensing board in the individual’s principal state of business, notwithstanding the individual notice requirements of G.S. 150B‑38.
- Be subject to personal jurisdiction, subject matter jurisdiction, and disciplinary authority of the Board.
A foreign accountant must meet all requirements for certification in effect at the time of application. North Carolina and the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario, Nova Scotia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan have established mutual findings of substantial equivalence, which allows for licensure between the jurisdictions.