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It’s Time to Renew Your NC CPA Certificate

Online individual CPA certificate
renewal will be available in early
May.

Look for the link in the “How Do
I?” box on the Board’s website,
nccpaboard.gov.

Before starting the online renewal,
please review the infographic on
pages 4 and 5 and the renewal FAQs.

The full instructions for completing
the 2020-2021 CPA certificate
renewal are part of the online renewal

When completing the renewal,
make sure you check the appropriate
box related to your CPE.

Failure to accurately report your
CPE or not having completed the
proper CPE may result in a forfeited
certificate and a $1000.00 civil
penalty through a Consent Order.

As required by North Carolina’s
Employee Fair Classification Act
(EFCA), the renewal includes an

Employee Fair Classification Public
Notice Statement.

NCGS 143-765 requires the Board
to deny your certificate renewal if you
do not answer the questions related
to employee misclassification.

If you don’t complete the certificate
renewal or request inactive status
before July 1, you may receive a
Letter of Demand from the Board.

Failure to submit the renewal form
and fee or request inactive status
within 30 days of receiving the Letter
of Demand will result in an automatic
forfeiture of your NC CPA certificate.

Please send general questions
about CPA certificate renewal to Buck
Winslow at buckw@nccpaboard
.gov.

Please submit questions about
CPE as it relates to your certificate
renewal to Cammie Emery at
cemery@nccpaboard.gov.
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FAQs about Online CPA
Certificate Renewal

How do | access the online CPA
certificate renewal?

The link to the online renewal is in
the “How Do I” box on the Board’s
homepage, nccpaboard.gov.

What information do | need to renew
online?

You need your Social Security
number; your NC CPA certificate
number; the number of CPE hours
completed for the 2019 requirement;
and a valid MasterCard or VISA
account number, including security
code, expiration date, and billing
address.

Can | renew using a mobile device?

Yes, but the renewal is more
accessible on a laptop or desktop
computer.

If | don’t renew my certificate, is it
automatically placed on inactive
status?

No, you must request inactive status
using the form on the Board’s website.

Renewal FAQs
continued on page 3
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Emergency Order for Revocation of CPA Certificate

LEON LITTLE RIVES, II, #29505 | LEXINGTON, NC

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §150B-3(c), the North Caro-
lina State Board of CPA Examiners (hereinafter “Board”)
finds that there is substantial evidence that Respondent
Leon Little Rives, Il, CPA (hereinafter “Respondent”) has
engaged in general and specific conduct demonstrating
that he is no longer fit to continue to hold a certificate
as a Certified Public Accountant. Specifically, during the
period of time in which he has been a licensee and has
been engaged in rendering accounting services to the
public, there is substantial evidence that Respondent
committed each of the following acts or omissions in vio-
lation of the North Carolina accountancy laws and rules,
21 NCAC 08N .0201 (Integrity) and 21 NCAC 08N .0203
(Discreditable Conduct).

1.

Respondent is the holder of North Carolina certifi-
cate number 29505 as a certified public accountant.

The Respondent disclosed that he and his firm,
Rives & Associates, LLP (“Firm”), had been sued by
Avalon Potts in North Carolina Business Court. Pri-
marily, the lawsuit alleged that the Respondent had
acted fraudulently and in breach of his fiduciary duty
as an officer and director of Steel Tube, Inc. Other
allegations contend that the Firm, through the Re-
spondent, acted negligently and breached its con-
tract in the preparation of Steel Tube’s tax returns.

The lawsuit was litigated in Business Court, and a
jury entered a verdict against the Respondent based
upon a breach of his fiduciary duty, conversion, and
fraud. As a result, the Respondent was held individ-
ually liable for a total of $1,675,846. The judge has
upheld the verdict and has rendered a judgment for
that amount. The jury also found the Firm to be neg-
ligent and entered a $40,000 judgment against it.
The jury also entered $300,000 in punitive damages
against the Respondent and $200,000 against the
Firm.

On February 26, 2020, the Respondent was found
in contempt of court. The findings of that Order on
Contempt recited the following:

The court finds that the Defendant did
have an odor of alcohol about him when he
picked up the children at the Putt-Putt and

then transported them back to Westchester
Country day school.

The court further finds that one of the minor
children smelled the odor of alcohol and be-
lieved his Father was impaired and refused
to go home with the Defendant Father for
his weekend parenting time.

5. The Order on Contempt imposed a 30-day jail sen-

tence. The sentence was suspended if the Respon-
dent met certain conditions.

The Board finds that in light of the seriousness of the
jury’s findings establishing the conduct in question,
as well as evidence of the imminent danger of con-
tinued and irreparable harm to the public, that the
public welfare requires this emergency action.

The Board, therefore, issues this Emergency Order
pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §150B-3(c), to revoke Re-
spondent’s certificate as a Certified Public Accountant.
This Order is effective immediately at the time of ser-
vice of this Order upon Respondent and shall remain in
effect until this proceeding may be concluded pursuant
to North Carolina Administrative Procedure Act. A sepa-
rate Notice of Hearing for this matter and other related
matters will be issued to be held in the Board Office on

July 20, 2020.
Adopted by the Board on March 17, 2020.
2020 Board Meetings
Monday May 18 10 a.m. Raleigh
Thursday | June 18 2 p.m. Raleigh
Monday July 20 10 a.m. Raleigh
Monday | August 17 | 10 a.m. Raleigh
Monday Sept. 21 10 a.m. Raleigh
Monday Oct. 19 10 a.m. Raleigh
Monday Nov. 23 10 a.m. Raleigh
Monday Dec. 14 10 a.m. Raleigh
Pursuant to NC Gen. Stat. §143-318.10, all official meet-
ings of the Board are open to the public. However, the pub-
lic may be excluded from certain portions of the meeting as
allowed by NC Gen. Stat. §143-318.11.
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Renewal FAQs

continued from page 1

| was licensed as a North Carolina
CPA last month. Do | need to renew
my certificate?

Yes, all active CPAs licensed
before July 1, 2020, must complete
the 2020-2021 certificate renewal or
submit a request for inactive status
before July 1, 2020.

What is the CPE requirement to be
eligible to renew my license?

For a CPA licensed before April 1,
2019, the CPE requirement is 2,000
minutes. The requirement for CPAs
licensed after April 1, 2019, but
before January 1, 2020, is pro-rated.

If you were licensed between
April 1 and June 30, 2019, the
requirement is 1,500 minutes; if you
were licensed between July 1 and
September 30, 2019, the requirement
is 1,000 minutes; and if you were
licensed between October 1 and
December 31, 2019, the requirement
500 minutes.

To be eligible for 2020-2021
certificate renewal, CPAs licensed
before January 1, 2020, must
complete at least 100 minutes
of course work on regulatory or
behavioral professional ethics
offered by a sponsor on NASBA’s
National Registry of CPE Sponsors
nasbaregistry.org.

What happened to the 40-hour
CPE requirement? Why are you
referring to CPE credit in minutes?

The annual requirement has
not changed; it simply is reported
differently. The CPE rules that went
into effect January 1, 2020, calculate
CPE credit in minutes instead of
hours.

A CPE hour still is still as 50
minutes of learning/participation
time. Forty hours of CPE is 2,000

minutes of CPE (40 hours x 50 =
2,000 minutes).

My certificates of completion show
the credit in hours, not minutes.
Do | need to get new certificates
of completion?

The Board is aware that CPE
sponsors issue credit in hours
instead of minutes; you do not
need to request new certificates
of completion. In the renewal, the
hours you enter will be converted to
minutes for you.

One hundred minutes of ethics?
I thought the ethics requirement
had been reduced.

The 50-minute ethics requirement
applies to CPE completed for the
2021-2022 license year.

I’m not sure if | have any carry-
forward CPE. How do | check that?

Use the “Find CPA/Find CPA Firm”
link on the Board’s website to look up
your record. Your carry-forward CPE
credit is included automatically in
the renewal for you, so if the number
shown in the online database is
incorrect, contact Cammie Emery at
cemery@nccpaboard.gov  before
you start the renewal process.

If |1 didn’t have time to complete
the required CPE before the
December 31, 2019, deadline, can |
still renew my certificate?

If you didn’t complete the required
CPE before December 31, 2019,
but you complete the needed CPE
(including 100 minutesofethics)before
June 30, 2020, you may renew your
certificate provided that you have the
certificates of completion for each
CPE activity you completed between
January 1, 2019, and June 30, 2020.

Completing the CPE requirement
between January 1, 2020, and
June 30, 2020, without an approved
extension from the Board will result
in you receiving a Letter of Warning

Michael S. Barton W.
Massey, CPA Baldwin, CPA Massey, CPA

Gary R.

Officers Elected

On March 17, 2020, the Board
elected officers for the 2020-2021
fiscal year that began April 1, 2020.

Michael S. Massey, CPA, was
elected President; Barton W.
Baldwin, CPA, was elected Vice-
President; and Gary R. Massey, CPA,
was elected Secretary-Treasurer.

Information about the officers
and members of the Board is
available from the Board’s website,
nccpaboard.gov.

from the Board but no discipline by
the Board.

However, if this is your second
failure to complete the
CPE hours by December 31 within a
five-calendar year period without an
approved extension, your renewal
will be denied.

required

I didn’t have time to take an ethics
course in 2019, so I'm taking a
class in May. Do | need to take a
two-hour (100 minutes) course or
a one-hour (50 minutes) course?

Since the ethics course you plan to
complete in May is for the 2020-2021
license year, you must complete a
two-hour (100 minute) course. The
50-minute ethics requirement applies
to CPE completed for the 2021-2022
license year.

If | answer yes to one of the moral
character questions,

submit the
Board?

For each
type in an explanation in the space

how do |
information to the

affirmative  answer,

Renewal FAQs
continued on page 6
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2020-2021 Online CPA Certificate Renewal

21 NCAC 08J requires all active NC CPAs to renew their certificates annually by July 1. The information on these two
pages is an overview of the online certificate renewal process. Please review this information as well as the FAQs

about Online CPA Certificate Renewal before starting the online renewal.

Detailed instructions for

completing the renewal are included in the online renewal. If you have questions about the online renewal, please

contact the Board at (919) 733-4222.

What You’ll Need to Renew

&

Social Security Number NC CPA Certificate Number CPE Hours Completed
to Meet the 2019
Requirement

MasterCard or VISA account
number (including security
code, card expiration date
and billing address)

L]
Log - I n Licensee Log-in

Enter your social security
number and certificate
number.

Pertinent Data

Review and Edit

« Employment information;

« AICPA & NCACPA membership;
« Contact information; and

« Newsletter delivery method.

How to Look Up Your
Certificate Number &
CPE Carry-Forward Hours

Visit the “Find a CPA”
section of our website.

CPE Compliance

« Read the statements about CPE reporting; and
+ Select“yes” for one statement only.

® YES ONO
QO YES @NO
O YES @NO

North Carolina State Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners
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Report CPE Credit Hours

« Enter the number of CPE hours you are claiming for 2019. 2018 carry-forward
hours are automatically inserted into your renewal.

The CPE rules that went into effect January 1, 2020, calculate CPE credit in minutes instead of hours. A CPE
hour still is defined as 50 minutes of learning/participation time. Forty hours of CPE is 2,000 minutes of
CPE (40 hours x 50 = 2,000 minutes). In the renewal, the CPE hours you enter will be converted to minutes.
The Board is aware that CPE sponsors issue Certificates of Completion that show credit in hours instead of
minutes; you do not need to request new certificates of completion.

+ Provide details for each “yes” answer; and
+ Upload relevant documents. A

Moral Character Data . Py g
« Answer four questions about your moral character; %
i A

Oath of a North Carolina CPA

No action needed.

Accountancy Statutes and Administrative Code

« Acknowledge and affirm responsibility for knowing and understanding the
statutes and rules.

« Affirm that information reported in the renewal application is true, correct,
and complete.

Employee Fair Classification Act (EFCA)

« Certify or deny understanding of public notice statement; and
+ Accept or decline disclosure statement.

Payment

« Enter all required information and submit for processing.
« Print receipt.

North Carolina State Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners
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Renewal FAQs

continued from page 3

provided on the renewal. You may
submit relevant court documents as
a single PDF no larger than 20 MB
using the upload option on the screen
or email the PDF to Buck Winslow at
buckw@nccpaboard.gov.

If you prefer, you may mail the
documents to Certificate Renewal,
State Board of CPA Examiners,
PO Box 12827, Raleigh, NC 27605.

What happens if | answer yes
to one of the moral character

questions?
The Board’s Professional
Standards staff will review the

information and may ask you for
additional information.

If necessary, the Board’s
Professional Standards Committee
will review the information and then
instruct the staff as to how to proceed
with the matter.

Why am | being asked questions
about the Employee Fair
Classification Act (EFCA) on the
renewal?

The Board is required to include
the employee misclassification public
notice and disclosure statement

on all certificate applications and

certificate renewals. Information
about EFCA is available from the
NC Industrial Commission website,
www.ic.nc.gov.

| tried to renew online, but | got an
error message. What do | do now?

You can clear most errors related to
the online renewal by restarting your
computer. If restarting your computer
doesn’t help, send a screenshot of
the error message to Buck Winslow
at buckw@nccpaboard.gov.

Which forms of payment do you
accept for the online renewal?

The Board accepts only MasterCard
and Visa as payment for the online
renewal.

What if | don’t want to pay for
the renewal with a credit card? Is
there another way for me to pay
the renewal fee?

To pay the renewal fee by check,
you must complete each page of
the online renewal, print each page
(before clicking submit), sign the
renewal, and mail the completed
pages and a $60.00 check payable
to State Board of CPA Examiners to
Certificate Renewal, PO Box 12827,
Raleigh, NC 27605.

I have multiple charges for the
renewal on my statement. How do
| request a refund?

If there are multiple charges
for the renewal on your account
statement, email a copy of your
account statement to Buck Winslow
at  buckw@nccpaboard.gov. A
staff member will provide you with a
refund request form.

To prevent multiple charges, click
the submit button for your payment
one time only. If you receive an
error message when submitting the
payment, contact the Board at (919)
733-4222.

What is the certificate renewal
deadline?

June 30 is the deadline for
renewing your CPA certificate or
requesting inactive status.

Certificates Issued

On March 17, 2020, the Board approved the following individuals for licensure as North Carolina CPAs:

Joan Elizabeth Atkinson
Leslie Cameron Blazevich
Madalina Body

Katie Lynn Bond

Wendy Alexis Burnes
JingYuan Chen

Caroline Elizabeth Clark
Jonathan James Coleby
Jake Austin Connor
Joseph Michael Crouse
Susan Lynn Dalton
Brian William Donovan
Angell Wescott Doughtie
Dylan Conrad Edwards
Alexander Miles Erwin
Owen James Gaffney, Il
Meredith Kristian Gay
Nicholas Trenton Gilliam

Jordan Marcus Gower

Joy Ruth Hall

Alison Raye Halter

James Andrew Hatfield, Jr.
Elyse Shizuko Yukiko Hiraoka
Jacob Edwin Hoyle
Dale-Anne Jekov

Daniel Shannon Jones
Tevin Delaney Jones
Michael Paul Klem

Justin William Knight
Spencer Harris Lauber
Mark Jason Laughner
Janelle Elizabeth Lewis
Reid Joseph Lichtenberger
Adam David Marthaler
Michael Shane McCarthy
William Ashton McLamb

6

Brian Tu Nguyen

Carter Porcher Norris
Jonathan Ocampo

Cheryl Elise Oliver
Christopher John Pallen
Eric Reeves

Jasmine Ebony Roach
Kornravee Sintavanon
Timothy Milan Sivacek
Christopher Evan Snowden
Tamara Stanic¢

Nicole Marie Storer
Rachael Renee Taggio
Casper Hill Timberlake, IV
Brent Noel Williams, Jr.
Elizabeth Caroline Zurawel
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Uniform CPA Exam Information

Emergency Testing Period

In response to the COVID-19 situation and in antic-
ipation of the re-opening of Prometric test centers,
NASBA, the AICPA, and Prometric have decided to in-
voke an emergency testing period.

The emergency testing period extends the 20Q2 test-
ing window from June 10, 2020, to June 30, 2020.

As previously noted, NASBA is extending all Notices to
Schedule expiring between April 1 — June 30, 2020, until
September 30, 2020, and Prometric will waive resched-
uling fees related to testing center closures.

As of April 13, 2020, the AIPCA had not revised the
20Q2 score release dates to reflect the projected
May 1, 2020, re-opening of US Prometric test centers.

Do You Follow the Board
on Social Media?

For the Board, social media is a great
tool to keep applicants, licensees,
and the public up-to-date on statute
and rule changes, upcoming dead-
lines, Board meetings, issues affect-

Reissuance

Allison Watkins Lee, #34403
Robert Edward Mallernee, #15095

Continuous Testing

Earlier this month, NASBA announced that continuous
Exam testing will begin July 1, 2020.

Under the Continuous Testing model, candidates can
take the Exam year-round, without restriction, other than
waiting to receive scores from prior attempts of the same
section or when there is a major change to the Exam.

Continuous testing will replace the existing CPA Exam
testing window model which permits candidates to test
only during designated time frames each calendar quar-
ter.

To learn more about continuous testing, follow
NASBA on social media and visit nasba.org/exams
/continuous-testingl/.

Reclassifications

At its March 17, 2020, meeting, the Board approved the applications for
reclassification submitted by the following individuals:

Reinstatement

James Kerry Aaron, #40141
Ryan R. Dodson, #24326

Dale Kindley Miller, #26819
Elizabeth Hanlon Sands, #35777

Ralls, TX
Winston-Salem, NC
Clayton, NC
Leesburg, VA

Garner, NC
Chapel Hill, NC

Inactive Status

ing the profession, and much more.

Tweet Us, Like Us,
Share Us, Join Us

Facebook:
www.fb.com/NCCPABoard
Twitter:
@NCCPABOARD
LinkedIn:

North Carolina
State Board of CPA Examiners

Don’t forget to bookmark
the Board’s website,
nccpaboard.gov.

Between March 1, 2020, and March 25, 2020, the Board approved the
individuals listed below for inactive status. “Inactive,” when used to refer
to the status of a person, describes a person who has requested inactive
status and has been approved by the Board and who does not use the
title certified public accountant, nor does he or she allow anyone to refer
to him or her as a certified public accountant, and neither he nor she nor
anyone else refers to him or her in any representation as described in
Rule .0308(b) of this Section [21 NCAC 08A .0301(b)(20)].

Terri Vaught Lashley, #36284
Jenette Louise Parker, #12428
Russell Craig Simpson, #13663
Kendra S. McLamb, #25610
Dianne Sides Hartis, #16516
Jessica Marie Schallhorn, #41578

Check, VA
Charlottesville, VA
Summerfield, NC
Haymarket, VA
Greensboro, NC
Durham, NC

North Carolina State Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners
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State Board of
CPA Examiners

Board Members
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President, Morrisville

Barton W. Baldwin, CPA
Vice President, Mount Olive

Gary R. Massey, CPA
Secretary-Treasurer, Emerald Isle

Bernita W. Demery, CPA
Member, Harrisburg

Wanda B. Taylor, Esq.
Member, Raleigh

Jennifer Van Zant, Esq.
Member, Greensboro

Arthur M. Winstead, Jr., CPA
Member, Greensboro

Staff

Executive Director
Robert N. Brooks

Deputy Director
David R. Nance, CPA

Staff Attorney
Frank X. Trainor, Ill, Esq.

Legal Counsel
Noel L. Allen, Esq.

Administrative Services
Felecia F. Ashe
Vanessia L. Willett

Communications
Lisa R. Hearne

Examinations
Phyllis W. Elliott

Licensing
Cammie Emery
Alice Grigsby
Buck Winslow

Professional Standards
Julia L. Mayo
Jean Marie Small
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2,000 copies of this document were printed in April 2020 at an estimated cost of $1,900 or approximately 95¢ per copy.

Notice of Address Change

Please Print Legibly

Full Name:
Certificate No.:
Home Address:
City/State/Zip:
Home Phone No:

Last 4 Digits of SSN:

Home Fax:

Personal Email:

Firm/Business Name:

Business Address:
City/State/Zip:
Business Phone No:

Business Fax:

Business Email:

Signature:
Date: Send mailto: [ | Home [ ] Business

Mail form to: PO Box 12827, Raleigh, NC 27605
Fax form to: (919) 733-4209

Pursuant to 21 NCAC 08J .0107, all certificate holders & CPA firms shall notify the Board in writing
within 30 days of any change in home address & phone number; CPA firm address & phone number;
business location & phone number; & email address.
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